

Christopher Gilpin, President

Hi everyone. This is a short note to bring you up to date with Society happenings and future events

We had the annual ballot of members to elect/reelect Society officers. We only had 11 responses but all were in favor of the proposed candidates.

The officers for the coming year are:

President – Christopher Gilpin, Purdue University

Biological Sciences Director - Deborah Hall, Rush University

Material Sciences Director – Fengyuan Shi, UI Chicago

Program Coordinator – Jason Mantei, Baxter International

Treasurer – Mary Ann Murphy, Baxter International

Secretary – Cem Akatay, Honeywell/UOP

Olivia Thomson has agreed to server as webmaster. So any information you want to disseminate can go through Olivia.

We always have a difficult time communicating with our members. We have an email list, which may or may not be up to date. However we often find that despite having accurate email addresses many of the member's servers reject email from the Midwest society. We have set up a group at LinkedIn called the Midwest microscopy and analysis society. So far we have 83 members – please join and keep an eye out for announcements through that group. With Olivia's help we plan to get the website up to date and relevant.

Future meetings are being planned. The first will be at Northwestern on March 28th.2019. We hope to have a tour speaker from the Microscopy Society of America come and present. That will be Dr. John Mansfield. We have three additional speakers from Northwestern but we are looking for more!- Send me your ideas and volunteers to present. We are very open to graduate students or posts docs presenting. A good friendly environment to practice your skills with a 15 minute talk!

.